Story submitted by a Little League Umpire
I had a situation tonight where there was a base hit with a runner on first base. As the runner was going from first to second, the second baseman was standing in the path, just not paying attention. This caused the runner to try and get around the fielder and they both did a shuffle. The shortstop fielded the ball and threw to second base for the third out of the inning.
What’s the call there? Does the runner get to second base automatically due to an obstruction? The way I understand the rules is yes. As soon as the runner needs to move or veer away to get to their base, that is obstruction. Do you agree?